Tips for catchy color grading

dubdave

Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
Hey you guys,
I am new to Youtube and yttalk and would like to get some tips how you colorgrade your Videos to get the best Results (Appeals and Likes) on Youtube. I tried som grading in Davinci Resolve, but doesnt look like Videos from the big Youtuber.
Would be nice if someone could explain how to do it or knows a good Tutorial on Youtube for this Topic.
Thanks.=)

Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
To make things easy, you can use LUTS, I have an orange and teal LUT that I made that is free. Orange and teal are two of the most popular colors used in film.

The NotARubicon!

NotARubicon Productions
Reaction score
Channel Type
Director
I correct/grade everything in Final Cut which is fairly simple.. I’ve tried applying LUTS but always had better luck manually correcting.

To start I always crank up the contrast - usually this is easily done by dropping the shadows and bringing up the highlights..

From there I correct any color issues. We film most of our stuff in the desert or mountains and sometimes all the reflected light off of colored rocks/mountains really throws off the color.. this can be a pain sometimes, especially when trying to match the color from several different cameras.

After the color looks normal, i will usually crank up the saturation..

Finally, i spot-adjust contrast or saturation using masks. For example, if the sky is blown out, i will adjust it differently than the rest of the scene using.

You can see the results in the channel trailer in my signature.

videoeditgr

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Other
Before color correnting there is some basic info on color and light itself.
Blender Guru have a nice color theory tutorial
Kriscoart have a nice example how color infect one's mood
finally B&H have a nice tutorial on scopes and how to read color and luminocity.
After that you can use masks as mentioned before and advances techniques.