How do you find the time to YouTube?

Merlina Rodas

I've Got It
Reaction score
Hello all,

I started my channel a while ago and due to lack of motivation and lack of time I had to stop, now I'm trying to get back into it and I'm definitely more motivated and I thought I had more time but life just seems to get in the way! I'd love to be a fulltime youtuber but unfortunately I can't afford that right now... maybe I am budgeting my time wrong or not planning enough, but does anyone have tips for finding the time to plan videos, film videos and edit? Seems like a lot for one person!

The Bomber Brigade

Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
For me I just do it when I can. I'm just a student at this point in life but it's still very hard to find time to do anything related to YouTube. I normally do planning randomly in all honesty. If i'm in class I'll think about what I can record. I do gaming videos so It's easy to just take half an hour or so to record something. But I would say just use any spare time you have to do stuff for your channel. Also try to make a schedule and see if you have any down time to work on your channel.

Reactions: Merlina Rodas

JesusGreen

Posting Mad!
Reaction score
Channel Type
Guru
I started using an app/program called "Todoist". It's basically todo list software that lets you set up various useful things like recurring tasks that happen every day etc. I plug all my daily/weekly/monthly/yearly routines into that. Every day before I go to sleep I input any tasks I need to get done the next day (like recording, editing, planning new videos, making thumbnails, replying to emails or comments, etc).

Before I started using it I had the exact same amount of time to dedicate, and yet I still found it hard just to keep up with my 2 a week video schedule. Now I'm releasing videos 7 days a week and being productive every day (not just on my channel but also with exercise, meditation, etc) until around about an hour or two before I go to sleep.