Entertaining commentary and personality

Curious World

I've Got It
Reaction score
Channel Type
Reporter
It took me a while to pluck up the courage to do my own narration for my videos. I thought I'd hate the sound of my voice and editing the videos would drive me mad because I'd have to listen to my own southern English drawl over and over again. But after doing it for the first time, it wasn't so bad, but I do struggle to sound upbeat, which is an important part of narration, I think.

I'd like to do a face to camera type video, but I just don't think I have the personality for it or the enthusiastic communication skills to make it work. I also don't want to pretend to be a hyper happy YouTuber, because people will see right through it.

So, do you think these skills can be self taught, or is it just a case of some people have what it takes, and others don't?

Reactions: itsmeLori

WeiseGamer

Your #1 Source For Indie Gaming
Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
If you discuss things you are passionate about, it comes through even if you aren't overly hyper. You just don't want to be mono-tone.

Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, hates the sound of their own voice at first, sometimes they always do (but you get used to it). I would post in the review section and ask people for opinions there. They are constructive.

I still hate my voice, and people have literally told me (multiple people, this very phrase, like word for word, at separate times) that my voice is "buttery smooth" and "pleasant to listen to" and "easy to listen to."

I think my voice is crap =D

Munchito696

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Other