Looking for advice on sharing lets plays & playthroughs

CagesGaming

Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
Hey guys,
I'm new to the yttack forum and I feel like this is the best place to get some advice on where I should share my lets plays and playthroughs of my upcoming games in 2018. First of all introductions - my name is CagesGaming (pronounced Kayjis as this word does confuse quite a few people haha)

I've been youtubing since 2016 but my channel is much much older when I first created it. I'm an old school gamer and I just enjoy sharing gameplay of games I play on the weekly basis. But nowadays I'm finding it much harder to grab some interaction on my channel with views, like to dislike ratio, watch time, subs etc. I have experimented with google adwords a few years back but gained little results in the end. I concluded that if I'm going to earn subs, views and watch time genuinely I may as well put in the extra effort in promoting myself in 3rd party media sources like twitter, local game forums, reddit etc where they allow sharing of videos. As I have heard that self promotion is frowned upon - I do my best to avoid those certain places as to not anger that community.

I recently have done just that to an MMO game called World of Warplanes, which is making a come back with its 2.0 revision. I have a particular passion for this game as I've played it for years but never considered making videos for it. So now that I have started to share it through the official forums as well as its own subreddit. And tweeting my videos as soon as it is uploaded tagging the necessary groups, I've gained quite a bit of interaction with subs, views & what's most interesting is the watch time has bumped up quite a bit which tells me that I atleast am doing something right.