What would be the best way?

Angel Stage

Reaction score
Channel Type
Vlogger
Ok so I have an idea for some videos for my husband and I to do. I want to record things he says while watching movies so I would have to record on average about 2 hours and then edit it later for the main bits. I plan on having the camera focused on him for one part to see his reaction as he's watching and then maybe put bits of the movie where he comments as a picture in picture sort of deal.
The camera I have is a Canon Powershot G7X and it won't record for that long. Is there a way that I can have it record for that long? I heard something about hooking it up to the TV but I'm not a big techie person so I'm not sure. Or would a different type of camera be better? Thanks!

Dewmonic Abyss

Super Poster
Reaction score
Channel Type
Comedian
I'm not really sure there's a whole lot you can do. I think you might just be better off getting a new camera. To my knowledge, cameras have a buffer in order to ensure they have enough power to store the footage. If you force it to record longer, it'll potentially screw up the footage. When you buy a camera, in the specs, it should say how long the camera is capable of recording up to, and that's your best bet. If the camera you have currently has a decent recording time (for example, 30 minutes) you could cut up the video, essentially, and make use of what you have. It'd be a minor annoyance, but easier to edit, I'd bet.

Reactions: Angel Stage

Stike96

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber