John B

Hello all! I had a question for the community about using assets from games in videos? And what I mean by assets are things like sound effects, 3D models, textures, sprites and such elements...

The reason I ask this is because I am a bit of an animator and more so a VFX artist and want to use these assets in my videos, I've also asked this elsewhere and have been told it's fine as long as I am not monetizing my work (which I don't plan to any time soon anyway) but I'm wondering if I do ever monetize my work, should I still be fine?

I've seen a few channels that do this and they seem to be getting off fine, one example I remember was a channel called "CorridorDigital", in their video titled "There's An Alien On Your Head!" they made a behind the scenes video for it on their other channel, "samandniko" and in it they mention using tools to extract 3D models from games, so I guess if they do it, why couldn't I as well? (might as well mention that I'm pretty sure that they have put ads on their videos)

Thank you all and I would like to hear what you think!

Hello all! I had a question for the community about using assets from games in videos? And what I mean by assets are things like sound effects, 3D models, textures, sprites and such elements...
and in it they mention using tools to extract 3D models from games, so I guess if they do it, why couldn't I as well? (might as well mention that I'm pretty sure that they have put ads on their videos)