Copyright Question

JedzkieYT

Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
Hi guys! I'm just new here in YTtalk, I have a question regarding Copyrights, what if someone uploads a short clip of their gaming video and I download it without telling them. The downloaded video is added to my video hightlights. But in my video description, I add their names as a Credits to their video, will the monetization of YouTube will accept the video i made? Thanks!

Lambo

Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
Do you take the given video in its entirety? Regardless, I'd say you'd be dealing with copyright infringement. It does not matter that you give credit. You need permission to use the footage. This "video highlights" also does not tell us how you would use the footage - as I understand, using a few seconds of a clip is okay (but I am not sure), but if you use more, then no.

However, I am no expert nor good at phrasing what I think, so hopefully someone else will give you an answer here as well.

JedzkieYT

Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
Actually, its only a clip (1 ~ 30) secs.[DOUBLEPOST=1475757924,1475738500][/DOUBLEPOST]Bump?

Lambo

Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
Actually, its only a clip (1 ~ 30) secs.[DOUBLEPOST=1475757924,1475738500][/DOUBLEPOST]Bump?
Unless someone else answers here with a clear answer of you being allowed, I wouldn't do it. Now that's just me, I wouldn't want to risk copyright infringement.

Shakycow

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Animator
...will the monetization of YouTube will accept the video i made? Thanks!
Yes, YouTube will accept the monetization of your upload.

They will also accept the DMCA take down notice of the person who's video you stole and used as your own without permission. It doesn't matter if it's only 1 frame or their entire video, without getting (written) permission first, you don't have the right to use it.