Basic Setup Advice for Casual YouTube Filming

Chummy

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm new here :)

I'd like to think of a new setup for creating videos. Beforehand I was recording using my cheap phone's camera or a Logitech C270 Webcam.

I'm a musician and an audio guy and am not experienced with video equipment/setup. I did however a lot of research yet I feel I'm not sure yet as to what to go for.

My needs:

I only record in my own room/house. I don't need to hold a camera, or be mobile whatsoever. Just click shoot and film myself playing my intsruments (while I've got the Audio through my Mic> interface>DAW)
I don't need any fancy DSLR/Camcorder as I won't use it in any other context, nor I need to plenty of functions there.
I was thinking of buying a gooseneck clip style holder for my phone, I had one in the past and it proved okay but tedious since : 1) I can't see what I'm recording.. (no monitor), unless use android cam but that means I have to clip it
close enough to my PC which puts a limit on various potential clip on placements/angels in the room. 2) It's quite a task to do multiple takes from afar all the time, delete the last video, click record again, wait till the phone stops shaking, and hopefully I don't run out of GB space so get someone called to me in the middle.. In addition a Webcam has the big advantage of having a video monitor in the PC and it records straight to the PC as well where I do my audio editing later.
I would like to experiment with top down videos, when playing my digital piano. I actually managed before by duck-taping my C270 onto a microphone stand overhead. Inconvenient though, wonder if there's any way (paid of DYI) to improve upon that so I can "mount" a webcam in any angle or height (film when standing or sitting e,g).
Lastly I'm looking for something in Full HD (not 4K) like 1920/1080 and preferebly more than 30 FPS as both my Phone camera and the webcam do not handle movements inside the frame very well.