What is your twitter routine - re: promotion

Kirgle

"taking a swipe at everything"
Hi.

As a noob here I have already found heaps of tips and tactics to improve my youtube experience.

One thing I have seen crop up a fair bit is people referring to twitter (instagram and face book) to promote their videos.
Facebook is pretty straight forward as it is a network of your friends or specific pages of interest.
But twitter and Instagram are much more fluid and free form.

If you use twitter successfully what is your routine. No one specifically outlines it but I think it would be valuable insights for a lot of new members.

The best I can piece together is targeting hashtags that relate to your content?

Hashtags relating to your content is a good idea. What I've done is I just tweet out my newest video to my followers. I gain followers through activity on other twitter accounts, following suggested people, and activity through my other social media outlets. I probably could be doing more but that's what I do now.

I have two Twitter accounts on which I promote my videos. The first is just my personal account, and I'll briefly talk about my videos. The second is dedicated to George the Self Esteem Cat, and he's always giving out advice about being good to yourself, and also promotes the videos he's in.

Interactivity!

Connecting your YouTube to Twitter as a means of sharing links is pretty straightforward once you've got it down. And you'll get the hang of hashtags, fear not!
But it's talking to other folks that'll get you noticed on there more than anything.
That's the wonderful thing about Twitter. Your fave celeb or YouTuber shares a witty anecdote or snippet of their life? You can tell them directly how it makes you feel - and better yet, they sometimes respond?