What Hardware do I Need?

Collie

Hey guys,

New to the forum and starting with a pretty generic - but super important - thread :)

I've wanted to start a YouTube channel for years now. I've had enough of 'wanting' and I want to start 'doing' - but the reality of getting started is pretty daunting... particularly surrounding what equipment is needed.

From my own research, I think a Canon G7 Mark 2 is probably my best bet to start. I am slightly worried about it's audio, though... is this a big issue, or not really?

With a Canon G7, what lighting and what tripod would I need? I know that a ring-light needs to be able to fit around the camera? I'm not sure how any of that works. If anyone uses a G7 Mark 2 with a ring light, what do you use?

Would really appreciate some help with this... am desperate to get going! :D

Hey there. I am a newbie and still learning on a weekly basis. I do want to share a few ideas. Amazon is your best friend for these kind of accessories, there are lots of great products at very reasonable prices. I first started with this basic kit: Limostudio Photography Photo Portrait Studio 600W Day Light, which has been great. Great reviews on Amazon too.

I recently did get the bug to step it up a notch and started looking at the Neewer product line on Amazon. They offer a lot of value. I just placed an order for the 2-Pack Dimmable Bi-color 660 LED Video Light.

Good luck and have fun

I suggest starting with just a camera and adding gear as you go. Video and Youtube can be a really expensive lifestyle. Add things when you feel like you need them instead of just because you think you will need them. That way you only buy what you actually need and also don't spend to much money if you decide you don't want to do youtube anymore.

That being said -

Lights - I recommend getting a pair of Softbox lights for $100 on amazon (sometimes less). I bought my lights many years ago (atleast 4 years) and they are still working great.