The secret to getting video views.

RobbScottVideos

I've Got It
Actually, I don't have all the answers yet but stick with me. Because I do have a lot of proven advice to share you'll find helpful in getting views for your videos. Let me explain the Coles Notes version on my background. Then I'll explain how I used it to successfully get a lot of views on one video.

I'm a working visual artist with a real passion for marketing. I've been nationally recognized for my highly detailed pencil drawings and have collaborated on projects with sports icons such as Michael Jordan, Sidney Crosby, Bobby Orr, etc. But in the last year I began to feel unfulfilled by drawing alone. So I began to search out another way to express more of my creative ideas. Recently I discovered that outlet was videos.

I've built my art career on the marketing provided by media organizations. Meaning I used the media to sell my story - for free! I've literally received millions of dollars worth of advertising (in the last 2-3 years alone) and paid almost nothing for it. The secret? There is none. It's really quite easy if you find the right angle to sell your story. The media needs stories. They aren't interested in selling your products. But they are interested in telling your story in a way that appeals to their viewers.

But the focus of most of the media I've received has been offline (ie: print, TV, radio). It wasn't until I read a great marketing book recently titled "Trust me, I'm lying", that I used the same techniques online for one of my first videos. This book explained the power of blogs, and how they are used to feed our news cycle.

So I combined offline and online techniques to make my first video a solid success. Let me explain.