The quick and dirty of copyright.

Wyatt Kane

Super Poster
Here is the quick and dirty about copyright. (Again, I am not a lawyer, but I have learned a lot)

For music.
1. Always read the terms for "royalty free". A lot of them are not setup for YouTube or internet content and you can still get dinged.
2. "I bought it on iTunes" does not count. You have no rights to use that again in your own creations.
3. Creative Commons has many different licenses. Some require that you attribute the original creator, while others prevent commercial use(that includes monetization). Learn about these.
4. Just because someone says that you can use it doesn't prevent the system from attacking you. GET EVERYTHING IN WRITING (Example, an artist says you can use their music, but their record company doesn't know)
5. Keep any and all paperwork you get for music purchased. You may need the proof later.
6. Remixes don't lose the original copyright. If you use a remix and think you are safe, then think again. The remix artist should have gotten permission to use the original song, but even if they did, they can't transfer the right to you. This includes covers. So if you want to use a cover/remix, not only do you need a permission of the new artist, you need permission from the original. Fun right?

For images.
1. There are good sites with stock images where you can ask permission to use them at no cost. Same with music, make sure you get things in writing.
2. If there is a person in the image, you may need what is called a "model release". This basically covers you from being attacked by the model because you used their face/body.
3. Before you use someone else's image, think about if you can take a similar image yourself. Saves all the trouble.

For games.