Suggestions as to how to get subscribers without asking for them?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ask them in a way that it shows how it benefits them and not you. For example you could say "if you like my videos subscribe to my channel and you'll be notified of future videos" or "Subscribe to my channel so you won't miss any new ones"

I LOVE this (sarcasm). Subscribe to my videos! Why? Well, let me pretend that I think you're an idiot who doesn't understand what the point of subscribing is and tell you what subscriptions do in general!
I think I would de-subscribe out of principle when hearing this from a channel I was already subbed to.

Also, when people do these reminders because they think the viewing audience is too stupid to remember that subbing is a thing, well... to use a sexual metaphor, I go flaccid.

As for sub notes or vocal asking for subs barely a few minutes into a video, if I'm new to a channel I will often be on the fence and very skeptical of the video, even if I come out of a video liking it. If I'm asked for subs before the video ends, not only does it make me lose immersion in the video if I was immersed, but if I wasn't totally "sold" when that CtA comes up, I will exit out of video.

Really I wish there were more polls conducted to figure out if people like me make up a chunk of the population or if I'm really rare. Knowing how negative the internet often is, I seriously doubt there are only a handful of people who get annoyed by "call to actions".