Monetization while showing copyrighted photos, music, or video, within a video

kevin392

Reaction score
Hello,

My name is Kevin and I am new to youtube and trying to wrap my head around monetization of videos while including copyrighted material within a created video.

For example, there are hundreds, if not thousands, of celebrity-orientated channels where youtubers display different celebrity photos which are likely copyrighted by the photographer. In my case, I wish to upload some videos discussing certain bands and within my video, I'd like to show several photos of them from past to present. The photos would likely be copyrighted to somebody. Is a person within fair-use to display copyrighted photos when describing someone and if not, how the heck do so many people get away with it with slide shows?

Another example is using a video within a video...think reaction videos...I have seen reaction videos spike in popularity and it appears many get away with monetizing it. Many of the videos feature music and official promo videos by the artists and I wonder what happens when the artist claims rights to the video with content ID. When content ID happens, doesn't all monetization of that video cease for the uploader? The same could be asked about audio. I, personally, have had content ID claims for having 5 seconds of copyrighted audio that was picked up by my phone, while walking through a store.

Very confused.

Shakycow

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Animator
You're only seeing the ones who have yet to be caught. You can't see the thousands (millions) that have already been taken down or those who are claimed by another party.

Their technology only continues to get better and better. At some point, any footage used without permissions will be found. Is it worth the risk?

Illuminated Nerd

Reaction score
Channel Type
Reviewer