How long does it take you to edit a video?

Derrick Toys

Happy Kids Happy Life!
Hi Tubers! Happy to say I started videos on my free time with a new job schedule and I would appreciate tips/advice on your editing routine. Is there shortcuts I could follow?

I find that saving video links on notes is easy to copy and paste in descriptions along with default information for new uploads. Anything else? :) Thanks

For our milkshake videos, it takes about 2 hours plus rendering per video, sometimes less. For the story time videos, they can take 4 or 5 depending on how complicated we make the sound design. Once in YouTube, takes me about 5 or 10 minutes to have ready.

Tips: Get good sound so you don't have to fix it in post. As for YouTube related tips, we seem to do something similar. I have my base descriptions with links in a notepad. I've heard people use tubebuddy to do batch updates to videos but I'm new to all this and haven't tried that yet.

Like your channel by the way, the camera you're using also puts out great footage.

Last edited:
Im working on a twelve-minute video right now. My videos are heavy on animation. Right now I have put in I would estimate around 6 hours of editing. I assume I have maybe 4 left. I'm trying to figure out what I can do to speed up without sacrificing too much quality. I have already made LOTS of sacrifices in my current video.

For our milkshake videos, it takes about 2 hours plus rendering per video, sometimes less. For the story time videos, they can take 4 or 5 depending on how complicated we make the sound design. Once in YouTube, takes me about 5 or 10 minutes to have ready.

Tips: Get good sound so you don't have to fix it in post. As for YouTube related tips, we seem to do something similar. I have my base descriptions with links in a notepad. I've heard people use tubebuddy to do batch updates to videos but I'm new to all this and haven't tried that yet.