Hey everyone, looking to buy a good camera to break into the youtube scene with!

Derek M

ginga ninja
Alright everyone. I am an amateur youtube content creator. I'd like a video camera that can record in 1080p quality. Zoom is not very important to me. I would like the camera to have a pretty good mic (although I'd prefer the option to add an eternal mic). Of course, the longer the battery lasts the better. The only other thing i'd really like is the abilty to use it as a webcam. I'm looking to spend under $300 but if my perfect camera is just above that price, i might consider it. Im looking to do short action/comedy films, interviews, sports, and vlogs. Thanks so much for your help!

But a GoPro, they are shock resistant, can be dropped from planes etc
100% water proof and many other features. There are many harnesses like bike and chest ones to mount the camera on as well

You can find out more here: http://gopro.com/products/

Hope it helps!

I've heard of the goPro, and I have considered buying it. I'm not sure it's really what I want though. I really don't need anything so "indestructible". I'd prefer to spend 300 bucks on a camera that suites my needs and I can use all the features over 300 bucks on a camera where I can only use some of the services it brings me.

Funny you should say that. I was looking at them. Basically I think i've narrowed it down to these four:

Vixia HF R300
Vixia HF M301
Handycam HDR CX190
Panasonic HC-V100