Canon T3i help (HD Recording)

Wrice4

Tweet me @Wrice4
Hey guys, I just upgrade my Canon SX50 HS to a a Canon T3i camera with the kit lens, 18-55mm. I formatted the sd card, in the camera, and installed magic lantern + nightly build. My video settings currently are 1920X1080 @ 30fps. I am using a Scandisk Class 10 SDHC 32gb 30mb/s write speed; however, I just tried recording my first video and it shut off at 3 minutes and 30 seconds, saying the stopped recording automatically.

What are the best settings to record a vlog/video to have the best possible quality and to make it where my video(s) don't stop recording under 5 minutes of use? This is my first dslr so I am still learning and trying to figure this situation out on my own, but need some help with this.

P.S. I started a review channel, for youtube, and sit about 2 ft away from the camera. If I left anything out please let me know so I can tell you more.

I had a similar issue and I believe it was the memory card I was using. I think the issue was that my memory card couldn't process the data being stored on it as fast as I was recording, or that's what I took away from the articles I read up on. Honestly I don't have the biggest understanding of what happened, I just know I switched memory cards to a higher GB and things worked out much better.

I had a similar issue and I believe it was the memory card I was using. I think the issue was that my memory card couldn't process the data being stored on it as fast as I was recording, or that's what I took away from the articles I read up on. Honestly I don't have the biggest understanding of what happened, I just know I switched memory cards to a higher GB and things worked out much better.
Ya I'm just confused because the manual says it recommends a class 6 or higher, which I have a class 10. Plus if I have read correctly the t3i only writes at a max of like 24mb/s and mine is 30mb/s, so idk. I can try a new card but figured I was over the recommended specs.