Edward's 3ds Max Tutorials

Edward Andrew

3D Animator and Special Video Effects
Reaction score
Channel Type
Animator
Tutorials Overview

Hello there, I've been thinking about making 3ds Max tutorials on here for a while. Although I'm not sure how many people on here would really be interested in learning 3D Animation. This thread may be discontinued if there's a clear lack of response and interest in the topic. At the moment, while the thread is quiet I'll be posting each tutorial as a new post in this thread. Requests are welcome.

I've been using 3ds Max for over 5 years, around 4 hours each day which is probably quite typical for somebody pursuing a career in 3d such as myself and possibly anyone else that reads this tutorial. I run a 3ds Max tutorial YouTube channel, which is becoming more popular.

Anyhow, I thought I'd give this a go and decide to make a tutorial covering as much of 3ds Max as I can. My aim with these tutorials will be to take you from a complete beginner and develop both your knowledge on the software and 3D Animation/Modelling principles.

So allow me to start by explaining exactly what 3ds Max is and what you can do with it.

What is 3ds Max used for?

3ds Max is a 3D suite, meaning that it is one application with the facilities to accommodate for a large variety of tasks. Such as animation, texturing, modelling, UV mapping and now even simulating to some extent. 3ds Max is a leading application in creating CG elements for AAA Films and TV and even AAA Games.

Do I have to buy 3ds Max to learn?

If you're interested in learning 3ds Max, or infact any other Autodesk Software you can download it for free and get a 3 year educational license from the Autodesk Students website. Although if you plan on using it for commercial reasons then you'll probably have to buy it.

I use similar programs, will these tutorials help me?