U don't need Royalty Free Music but this instead....

JayManOurMusicBox

Loving YTtalk
Reaction score
Ok so a lot of people maybe shock to read this but let me first give you a bit of background about myself so you know I am not just making this up. I have been a professional full-time composer/producer for more than 20 years. I started out writing jingles for TV and radio and have scored for series, played live for touring artists, played in music festival, jazz clubs, you name it and of course composed for online productions.

What is royalty free music? Royalty free music is music that you do not have to pay any royalties when using it. So what are royalties? Traditionally you would have to pay performance rights organization (PROs) like ASCAP (US), PRS (UK), GEMA (Germany) etc when using music for your production. These organizations help their composers collect royalties based on the how, where, when, how many times a composer's music is used. However PROs royalties only apply to traditional media like broadcast (TV and Radio), film, instore music and physical performances. They do not apply to online - YouTube, Twitch, web, Vimeo, Daily Motion videos. So you would only need royalty free music if you using it for your TV commercial, radio commercial etc. It does not apply to online videos as PROs have no jurisdiction to collect royalties for online use.

I myself am not a member of any of these societies although I had contemplated in my earlier years but decided against. So my music is royalty free.
There are pros and cons of being a members of these PROs but that is another story for another time.

In summary, you do NOT need royalty free music for YouTube.
Instead you should be looking for is music that is YouTube friendly and allows you full monetisation.

Reactions: UniqueAlien

InstaSound

Reaction score
Channel Type
Musician
This is nonsene.