Should I follow my dreams even if my parents are against it?

Alex2Tall

Reaction score
So i've been doing YouTube for about 4 months and I have 428 subscribers. This is great and all, and this might come off a bit greedy, but I want MORE. I am a very humble person and I feel like there is so much I could offer to the YouTube community. The only problem is, my parents are totally against my YouTube channel and give me no time at all to make my videos. I am not allowed to go play basketball (which is the type of channel I want) and it's a struggle to do anything else. I feel like my channel is dying because I am stuck doing reaction videos inside the house :(
Any advice?

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: kevinboston7

KatyAdelson

I Love YTtalk
Staff member
Reaction score
Channel Type
Musician
Hello, and welcome to the forums! :) I've moved this to the strategy / tchnique advice discussion forum. ^_^

TheSwedishTraveler

I am a Traveler, A Wanderer, A Thinker
Reaction score
Channel Type
Vlogger
I wonder why they are keeping you to stay inside, instead of going out and play sports!
Are they forcing you to do your homework as well?
You should follow your dreams, but also have a back up plan if it doesn´t work out!

Crown

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
Channel Type
Guru
Any advice?

Explain to them why you like making videos and all the skills you're developing: Editing, filming, audio, internet marketing, computer skills, communication skills and how making videos increases your confidence. Then try to negotiate with your parents - You'll do some chores or give priority to schoolwork if they will accord you several hours per week to make videos. They have probably heard all the recent negative news stories about Youtubers and they just need to be reassured that you're not doing stupid stuff like tide pod challenges.

Shendijiro

(┛ಠ_ಠ)┛彡┻━┻
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber, Gamer, Commentator, Reviewer, Designer, Animator, Other