New YouTuber looking to help build his community and meet and get advice from other youtubers

Jaymo

Hey guys I'm Jamie (or as on YouTube: Jaymo) I'm just starting out on YouTube and trying to meet some others in a similar boat to me to help build my community and maybe get some advice from others more experienced than myself. I'm learning as fast as I can about editing but I'm stuck on thumbnails and I know my lighting and sound isn't amazing as of yet but I'm getting new equipment on the way to help with those without breaking the bank! Haha. So yeah anything you guys wanna throw my way will be a major help but even just some youtube pals would be nice too!

Hi Jaymo nice to meet you! It's sad when some threads remain without reply so i will fix that u.u. First of all I feel you when you talk about the difficulty in building a community because I'm introvert enough to find difficulties into doing that ( I mean I'm active here, also on Reddit and I try to do my best on twitter but I'm afraid other people may think I don't want to socialize, it's just I'm not so used to xD).
Anyway I can't check your channel from the link in the signature because it seems broken so you need to fix it (there is a guide somewhere here but I don't know where it is <,<).
From the highness of my "experience" (just 2 months and some days in this world) maybe I can give you some tips:
1)I'm still facing thumbnail problems and I'm still learning how to use photoshop properly but there are some free programs that you can use, but the best one is surely GIMP 2(is the one i used before photoshop) and there are a lot of guides online for tutorials;
2)For the lighting I suggest you to put at least 2 lamps near the pc and one of them should be in front of your face (the best should be the "3 point lighting setup" but I'm on budget so I use what I have in the house xD);