Needing to Show Your Face to be Successful?

CinemaChicks

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Just a little inquiry. Do you absolutely need to show your face to be successful on youtube? My friend and I do reactions and commentary to movies, but we aren't so keen on showing our faces. Is it necessary to find any growth and following to show your face or is there a work around for it?

Fost

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Channel Type
Youtuber, Gamer, Other
You can if you get creative with it. You got a few YT'ers that can do it. so anything is possible. Sirlionhart, Steve Reviews, Nux Taku are some examples to look up. I'm still learning myself

Crown

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
Channel Type
Guru
Moved to the strategy / technique forum. :)

It's definitely possible to grow without showing your face. A good example is/was "GradeAUnderA" who has grown to 3.6 million subs without ever showing his face. He made up for it with a very good voice and funny scripts and animations. :)

I do however think a channel will grow more quickly if the creator shows his/her face at least some of the time. ^^

Scopespy

Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
You can most definitely grow your channel without showing your face but it will be a bit more difficult. Its much more common for people who show their faces to get popular. People like to see who is talking and it makes them feel like they know you and will connect more. Good luck!

Bounce

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Channel Type
Youtuber
If you get a nice little following/community, I think they'd appreciate to see the person behind the videos they enjoy. Think of it as something for your fans rather than a channel growing tactic.

mirrorlessNY(youtuber)

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com