How much magic does a good background make?

Tarmack

Rhetorical Porcupine
Reaction score
I'm curious about the opinions you guys and gals have about the effect backgrounds have on your subscribers. Currently I've just got the stock black because I'm not a creative artist by any stretch of the imagination. My goal at some point is to commission a piece of artwork that I can use on my youtube channel and twitter feed (Post apocalyptic setting with a gritty but blinged out garden gnome on a chopper).

So my question is this. Do you think that a great background is enough to sway some people into taking your channel more seriously and thus potentially subscribing?

Michael

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
It is your chance to add some extra branding to your channel, you want to get your name out there and a good background can help achieve that especially if you have something relevant as your background and something your audience can recognise you by, similar to how a logo works for a website. It is your chance to make your name stick in their heads and I believe everyone should use a background as part of their own promotion. As long as the text on it is legible and the rest of it looks appealing it will show people youve put time into making your channel look nice for its visitors and also help keep you in their head :) I also think it shows you care about the channels appearance and that you want it to come across as professional. I think its also an opportunity to entice people to subscribe by writing on it on there, if it works well with annotations or mentioning it in your video then I believe the same applies to any imagery, you could add some text saying subscribe etc :)

JTAphotographs

Ask me anything. ANYTHING! o_O
Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer, Reviewer, Designer, Cartoonist