YouTube Gamer Doing Patreon A Bad Idea?

SteveDz

Reaction score
Hey guys, I haven't posted here in awhile, but always get a good response. I just wanted your opinion on a YouTube gaming channel looking for help on patreon. Do you support any or do you think it's a bad idea?

I'm wondering if I should try Patreon, but I feel scummy thinking of that idea. I've been streaming since early 2009 and have 42,000+ subscribers on YouTube now. I've always had a full-time job, but recently was let go after twelve years. Recently I was looking at Patreon with seeing other gaming YouTubers on there and started to think if I should too.

I'm thinking my subscribers will look at me in a negative light for trying that. That's in the back of my head, always thinking the worse outcome. Would like your opinion though and appreciate your time.

Reactions: ChrisLegend

Crown

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
Channel Type
Guru
Moved to the strategy / technique forum. :)

Based on your YT experience and size of channel, you have proven yourself as someone making decent content consistently so I'd see no problem in you launching a patreon. I think people tend to take issue with brand new Youtubers who are asking for money but have no track record. Good luck whatever you decide.

Turk-Lvlone

Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
Doing a Patreon is fine to do, I don't think they'll think of it as a negative if you're open about it and it helps with the quality of your videos. Congratulations on your subscriber count!

SteveDz

Reaction score
Moved to the strategy / technique forum. :)

Based on your YT experience and size of channel, you have proven yourself as someone making decent content consistently so I'd see no problem in you launching a patreon. I think people tend to take issue with brand new Youtubers who are asking for money but have no track record. Good luck whatever you decide.
Thanks for moving this to the right place and sorry about that lol. Thank you for the advice!