Yahoo now officially is blocking AdBlock, Google are you in?

Onlinetechs

Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber, Guru, Other
PCWorld announces that any Yahoo user checking YahooMail will now see an error saying 'To Continue you must disable Adblock'.. If Yahoo can do this.. Google, where are you on this?!

I've been saying this for a few months now, power players in the ad game have the ability to disable ad block on some platforms not all platforms. I'm all for YT to be adblock free, people won't stop using YT and odds are more people will sub to red to get a true ad free experience.

Although I am starting to think this will happen soon, the number one feature red is toting is ad free videos, but if the user uses adblock, this feature is obsolete because they have it for free. I'm 99.9% sure Google will follow in Yahoo's footsteps.

All I wanna know is, are you gonna pro-rate all my views that weren't monetized because you took so darn long to do this?!? :stomp:

Crawstax

Reaction score
This would solve so many problems for anybody who isn't selfish. I can't fathom a reason why Google wouldn't implement an AdBlock detector, it would make the world a lot easier.

Reactions: Brinkbabe91

GamersName

String_not_found
Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
This is a test only on Yahoo however, only chosen ones in US gets to experiance this. I hope it remains and other big players will follow.

Reactions: Nicasia and Crown

DJBenz

Loving YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
On the flipside, I'm sure someone will develop an ad-blocker that can't be detected in the browser so you'll be back at square one anyway. The internet always finds a way...

Crown

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
Channel Type
Guru
Google and YouTube could do this in the bat of an eyelid and I think they'll be doing it very soon.

I'd like them also to disable monetization from any YouTube channel that uses adblock when watching videos on other channels. I bet that alone would solve 50% of the problem.