Xiamoi Yi 4k software?

EvaUnitRoss

Reaction score
Hey everybody, I had been using a GoPro for a couple years and I liked GoPro Studio for video editing. That is the only video editing experience I have. I do outdoors videos while hiking. Unfortunately I lost my GoPro in a mini-avalanche, so I bought a Xiaomi Yi 4k to replace it. The Yi 4k produces three types of files for each video shot. These are .MP4, .THM, and _thm.MP4

I have two questions:

1. When I play the videos on my computer, using VLC Media Player the .MP4 files look the clearest but play very choppy.
The _thm.MP4 files play fine but look kinda poor quality.
The .THM files are not video files. Can anyone explain to me the differences between these file types?

2. What video editing software can I use to turn these files into movies?

I really appreciate any and all suggestions! Thanks!

EvaUnitRoss

Reaction score
I'm not opposed to it if its awesome and is the right program to edit those types of files on. I just can't find anything online telling what programs can work with the Yi 4k's files. I feel like I need to live in China to make this work lol
PS DON'T buy this camera

Andie_the_Lab

Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
the Yi4K is great, we don't personally use it because we have the hero 5,6 and 5 sessions. But Sean Cannell actually just made a review of it during CES -

there are plenty of youtube tutorials on filming with it, but anything like Final Cut Pro X or Adobe Premiere will be able to handle your video.

The real question is if your computer has enough power to handle 4k processing.

EvaUnitRoss

Reaction score
ok cool ,thank you. Filming with it extremely easy. I was just disappointed that in 2016 I can buy a $400 camera and somehow that doesn't include any instructions, product support or customer support.

Andie_the_Lab

Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber