Where did YOU learn to edit?

crosbyo

Reaction score
I've seen a few people who have fantastic editing styles that are inspiring.

Mr Sark for gameplay, used to be unprecedented. I haven't watched his videos in a while, but they were always quality.

Casey Neistat is obviously an inspiration for many on Youtube.

But where did you learn to edit? Youtube videos? This forum? How long did it take to really get your groove with an editing style you were happy with?

Neimers

I've Got It
Reaction score
Channel Type
Comedian
I learned to edit simply just by watching videos. I'm not a film student or anything like that, but I am very inspired by cinematography and Youtubers like Ingrid Nilsen, Grace Helbig and Community Channel are my biggest inspirations in terms of editing. They do it very cleanly, effective and it really makes the entire video. I'm still learning much more and slowly getting better at it! My editing is also pretty simple so I don't have to focus a lot on it. It's also good that I'm advanced with photoshop as well so I can navigate and figure things out pretty easily.

Munchito696

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Other
I've seen a few people who have fantastic editing styles that are inspiring.

Mr Sark for gameplay, used to be unprecedented. I haven't watched his videos in a while, but they were always quality.

Casey Neistat is obviously an inspiration for many on Youtube.

But where did you learn to edit? Youtube videos? This forum? How long did it take to really get your groove with an editing style you were happy with?
I taught myself by experimenting with my software and watching YouTube videos. I have one channel that does all kinds of Cyberlink Powerdirector tuturials, it was my go-to when I first got the software.

Johnny_Seagull

YTtalk Mad
Reaction score
Channel Type
Director, Comedian