What Camera?

Peter Allan

Reaction score
I'm just starting out and would like to get a camera to produce videos. The HP webcam that sits on my monitor is not easily manoeuvrable,...

Can you folks suggest an inexpensive, mid range camera?

Stike96

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
It may not be a good idea to invest too much into your channel until you know that you want to stick with it unless you want to use that equipment for other things too. If you do want to invest though DSLRs are expensive but have the advantage of having a manual mode, interchangeable lenses and removable storage. Your phone may have manual mode though, and while it doesn't have the other two advantages it probably would have a good quality camera, so you could even just start off with that. If you want it to be manoeuvrable you could just get a small tripod (or a gorilla pod) and put one of those phone holders you find on selfie sticks on the tip (at least that's where mine is from anyway, just make sure that they have the hole on the bottom that can screw into a tripod).

Webcams are actually totally fine for gaming though since you won't be moving around and your video will be small most of the time so it's not the end of the world if it's not a high resolution.

Audio and lighting are much more important, I'd recommend looking to get a good quality microphone before upgrading your camera. It may also be worth getting some lighting (i've got some cheap softboxes off eBay that do the job) or try to get a lot of natural light in, however you want to do it just try to get the video well lit.

Reactions: Peter Allan

Peter Allan

Reaction score
Thanks for your detailed and considerate reply.

I shall concentrate on microphone first, as you suggest, and will improvise with the webcam.