Using a NCAA College logo in video

LKgolf

Reaction score
I recently put up a video featuring the Iowa Mens Golf Facility where I show what their school golf facility is like. I decided to not monetize this video because I was using Iowa State's name and logo. But this video is doing really well and I'm wondering if it would be okay if I just monetized it?

If you want to see the video as a reference search: D1 college golf facility

It should be the top of the list

KudoJin

I've Got It
Reaction score
Channel Type
Animator
I would say it depends on your exact use case. In some circumstances, you could argue that it's fair use. That having been said without seeing the video it would be hard to say either way.

I can't take a look at the video atm, but if you'd like I can take a look in a bit and see what I think.

Just remember as a quick disclaimer - I'm NOT a copyright lawyer and I can't say that this is legal advice, just my opinion and my views on how I would handle the situation.

LKgolf

Reaction score
I'd be interested to see your take on it! I know it's not actual legal advice but I'm interested to see what other people think. I'm considering paying a little bit of money to ask this question to an actual copyright lawyer potentially.

KudoJin

I've Got It
Reaction score
Channel Type
Animator
Okay so I watched some of the video and it is possible that it might fall under fair use.

Here's what I think you have going for it:
  1. The use of the logo in the video, aside from the footage that you recorded in the facilities, is very limited, only a few seconds.
  2. You won't be able to find much alternatives that would identify it as well as the logo and the name
  3. Currently the video is not monetized.