Thinking of starting a monetised educational channel

Graham1982

Reaction score
Dear all:

I am new to Youtube in terms of creating content and therefore the title of this post might be misleading. Essentially, what I want to know is some information around copyright and also how I can do something if there is a copyright issue but removing the copyright issue.

OK, again, I understand that building a channel is a slow process and that I am not going to become a millionaire from this either at all or certainly not overnight. That being said, I think I have a good USP.

I am essentially a UK based High School teacher with a wealth of resources. What I want to do is do walk-throughs of poems etc and other English Language/Literature based questions using screen capture and my lesson PPTs.

Say for example if I had a lesson on a poem that is set in World War I and in said lesson I had a video clip from a WWI documentary that I had taken from Youtube and that this was made by a commercial TV producer like Discovery. Lets say the clip was five mins long and it had questions along with it - i.e. I didn't create the video bu I created the questions, would it be copyright infringement to include this in a video and if so could I get around this in any way (I don't want to pretend I created the video, I want to use the video for an exemplary purpose.

Many thanks

Graham

dv2000

Posting Mad!
Reaction score
Fair use only applies for non commercial projects

Crown

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
Channel Type
Guru
Moved to the copyright / claims / legal forum. :)

UKHypnotist

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Market Harborough, Leicestershire, England
Channel Type
Musician
and in said lesson I had a video clip from a WWI documentary that I had taken from Youtube and that this was made by a commercial TV producer like Discovery.