Social Media tips

Reaction score
I have to admit, I'm a complete social media noob. I only have a Facebook profile and I barely do anything with it. However, having a social media presence can be good for your channel. So, OK, I guess I can make a Facebook page and a Twitter account for my channel, but I come to the question "What should I post BESIDES channel updates and new videos?" You have to have to be able to offer small, additional things, that would get people interested. My channel mostly focuses around retro games (there will be other stuff in the future), so I should be covered, considering how saturated gaming is on the internet, but I have zero competence in this field. When examining how more successful youtubers handle this, I see that most of the time they're having some kind of conversation with other people (mostly other youtubers), post (or re-post) something interesting, and they do it almost every day. I don't have time to look for something or make something up to post every day! How do people even do this?
OK, I'm rambling now. I just need some directions here. I've read the various sticky threads about this, but they don't seem to help much. Another problem is advertising your videos on various Facebook pages. How do you do that, without coming off as aggressive? I remember one user sneaking in an advertisement for their Lootcrate unboxing videos on the Lootcrate Facebook page by thanking them for the service or whatever, but how would you do this on a fan-page of a certain game, and the thing you're advertising is a review of it?
This all may seem annoying to you, but I hope someone can give me some advice.

Thanks!

Reactions: Sk Jony

XXLRay

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Other
When you buy a game post a photo of the box. Something channel related that probably gives people a glimpse of the things that are about to come.

Reactions: Jenni Nexus

xingcat

Be good to self.
Reaction score
Channel Type
Other