New to YouTube? One Months Worth of Advice

Solid

I've Got It
Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer, Reviewer
So I'm like you, a newtuber and one month ago I wanted to hit the ground running. So I'm no expert, but here's what I've learnt so far.

• Sub for sub will damage you channel.
Sub for sub will only p**s off the YouTube algorithm and result in less view on your videos. Why? Because one aspect of the YouTube algorithm is how many of your subscriber's are watching your new videos and of course, sub for sub people don't give a s**t about your content. Also a large sub base will do nothing to get you higher in YouTube search results, it's all about views and people enjoying your content.

• Ignore the spam in your comments
You'll soon start getting bullshitters asking you to sub them for a chance at a Sunday Shout Out, or some other pyramid scheme nonsense. Ignore them, it's a waste of your time.

• Don't bother with building fake relationships
So there's a unspoken way to do sub for sub and that's fake relationships. Basically you or somebody else start a conversation in YouTube comments, which leads to mutual subs, views and likes. On the surface it sounds fine, but these people soon unsubscribe after a week or two and it's just a waste of your time.

• Have a plan and stick to it
Consistency is king. Know what your going to do and do it. Make quality channel art and thumbnails. Be smart with your tags, these are so important. But most of all, ask yourself, is my video... Entertaining? Informative? Or Funny? If it isn't one of these three things, you probably want to go back to the drawing board.

Like I said at the start, I'm no expert, but I hope this helps some of you. Just remember unless your smoking hot, it'll take a few months to get 100 subs. Good luck :D

Lizzeelive

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
this is basically spot on for a month's worth of advice! Sub 4 sub sucks, People won't stick around long, and spam also sucks...

JammyWam