kosal

Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
yttalk cover.png ME:
Hello everyone,

My name is Kosal. I am 35 years old. I am a programmer from Cambodia. I earned my Master's degree in Information Systems, specialized in Web Mining, in South Korea '2010. I am working as chief of faculty of Computer Science, National Polytechnic Institute of Cambodia (NPIC). NPIC is one of the biggest university in Cambodia. Well, I have a YouTube channel "oumsaokosal"

YouTube??

Talking about YouTube, I actually sign up for YouTube since 2007. Yes 9 years ago. I did not use YouTube much during that time because internet was bloody slow then. Lately, I am using it like some years now. I published a lot of tutorial videos on to that channel. Interesting I did not know that you could monetize your videos on YouTube. I was only aware about AdSense for blog and stuff. Last year this month (Aug 2015), one of my colleague pop up and told me that you could make money from YouTube. I was like what!!!! Impossible, I said.

And then I discovered that, yes you could make money off from YouTube. It might sound silly to you. How come a guy in IT industry for 20 years never knew about YouTube. I admitted I was silly. Silly me.

Monetize??

Well, this thing got me up. I uploaded most of my teaching videos (in Khmer language - Cambodian, and English) on to my channel and monetized it. It works. Around 9 months later, I got my first check from Google AdSense via Western Union. How sweet was that. Do not be confused about the money. I actually earned enough money from my regular job as a professor of the national University combined with some private Universities where I can buy my own house (without mortgage) and a car for my family. However, online money from something that everyone talked about was really amazing.