Looking to take channel in a new direction?

Mithril

YTtalk Mad
Hello YTTalk! I've been YouTubeing for a few years now (very on and off) and I've been so caught up in analysis paralysis that I haven't made videos in a while. Now, I really want to do more and since my videos do take so long to make (and they're pretty stressful for me) I wanted to also create other types of content that will be easier/quicker and also be entertaining and helpful. In the video I just uploaded, I outlined how I wanted to also do a sort of progress following of my drawing skills and see how much I can improve through a year of dedicated practice. If y'all could watch that video and give some suggestions on changes I could make and how I should actually format these future videos, that would be much appreciated!

I think you answered your own question in your initial video.

Yes, if there's anything you can improve in your videos it's the visual presentation (TBH, this video is a good example; it would be more engaging if you were talking to the camera or there were other visuals to identify your personality, not just your channel).

The upshot is you have a great idea for how to address this by combining your love of illustration and stories. I love the idea of listening to a story (esp a mystery or creepypasta) where the conclusion is slowly revealed through an illustration in progress as it's also revealed verbally. Part speed/live drawing, party narration. It could also work for illustrating personal stories from your life, or update videos like this one.

If it were me, I would find it extremely hard to concentrate on both a good narration and the illustration at the same time. You'll likely also want to edit out parts of both, so I imagine you might voice over the drawing in post?

Anyways, I think it's a solid concept and I look forward to seeing where you take it.