• Join the largest paid sponsorship network. No contracts, no gimmicks, get paid quick. New sponsorships are added daily. Join at famebit.com

Is licensed stock footage considered "reused content"

trumpdayz

Reaction score
Channel Type
Other
To whom it may concern,
My channel was recently demonetized for reused content* approx 1 month ago & I appealed via live chat after wiping my library considering how vague the suspension was on "reused content"... My question is would you consider commercially licensed stock footage reused content or not? Trying to determine whether or not it's eligible for monetization due to the latest guidelines.

Last edited:

sarahja

Liking YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
Hi, I'm not experienced here and can't see your channel or videos to really say however the way I read it is that it is an update but also a decision. I completely understand your confusion but they have quite clearly outlined what is expected to get your videos monetised. You must meet the 3 criteria points below.

As a participant in the YouTube Partner Program, you must meet several content quality guidelines.
We’ve included some examples of content that don’t meet these standards, because it’s seen as reused content.
This is content that doesn’t provide significant original commentary, or educational value. It may also mean that we’ve identified that large portions of your channel either completely match other content, or are noticeably similar. Examples include, but are not limited to, the following:

If you want to create content that can be monetized, here are some best practices:

• Add commentary or show your presence in your videos (voice or on screen)
  • Link back to your YouTube channel from your website
  • Provide more context about your work in your video and channel descriptions
Make sure the content on your channel aligns with our policies.