Is it worth having a website for your youtube channel in 2018?

TYTD

If it's radioactive, Its on TYTD
Reaction score
Website
tytdreviews.com
Channel Type
Reviewer
I've been debating this now for a few months and I still havent really found myself an answer on this one. I realise that whether to get a website or not predominantly depends on your content, whether you sell content and how large your audience is/what kind of traffic you drive.

But in my case im somewhat conflicted. I make movie reviews and I've been considering getting a website now for a while with the vision that I could use it to host my videos, the occasional blog/opinion piece, maybe a forum, possibly even work with some other youtubers in similar fields to showcase some of there work to...but at the same time in the age of youtubes community social media tools slowly rolling out, facebook groups, blogger and self publishing sites (Not to mention the absolute collapse of websites like Channel Awesome and Normal boots over the last few years) I wonder whether my motivations to get a site are somewhat eskewed in favour of dewey eyed nostalgia to a time when making videos and setting them up on your own website was a legitimately good way to grow and audience, build a community and increase traffic to your content.

So what do you guys think? I suppose im asking two questions here; first is "Do you think I should pursue this? or do you think the reasons I list above are a good reason (For me personally) not to bother?" and "Do you think that youtubers without merch or a distinct service to offer should bother with websites in the age of social media where its never been easier to advertise yourself in anyway you see fit?"

EVO

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
I set up a website for one of my channels and although it got views - The time in upkeep was too much for me to handle so ended up closing it down after 6 months.

Reactions: TYTD

Mark Stise

Loving YTtalk
Reaction score