Is Anyone Afraid of Being A Youtube Success?

Te-Erika

I've Got It
I have been a Youtuber since 2007 and recently I have been getting about 5 subs a day. That's quite a lot and a few time I have been recognized on the street. The other day I got an email from a subscriber detailing how she always thinks of me and considers me to be her BFF even though we haven't met.

I really want the money that comes with being a superstar Youtuber but I don't know about the fame and recognition part. It kind of scares me that people I don't know desire to be close to me emotionally. I am open on my Youtube channel but in real life I am an extreme introvert, I never want to be noticed, don't like meeting new people, etc.

I love making my videos but I'm kind of scared to get more subscribers and fans. Right now I host a MeetUp group for my subscribers and it always feels weird that I meet people who know all about me and I don't even know their names or that they exist. Does anyone feel this way. It's kind of scary. I don't want to disappoint people who say they love me but I also don't want to compromise who I am- which is an introvert, happy to be alone.

I'm the same as you, I want the money but couldent care less about the fame.

I only launched my channel yesterday and I use actresses for videos that need introductions/outros.

I also have a plan for my next channel that I will be starting in a month or so where I dont need anyone onscreen at all.

I'm so new and young. Yet oddly enough I got recognized once which felt really awesome yet weird. Yeah I think its scary and probably a big tradeoff. But from what it seems it's not like television fame. You should do some serious thinking about whether the fame balances out with the money from your perspective.