Images of football players copyright issues?

footyman19

Reaction score
Hello All

I am very new to the world of youtube and I have just made a channel to run alongside my website about football. I am wanting to do videos that discuss the big issues in football on a weekly basis and other daily videos. To do this I was wanting to use images of players and managers etc with me discussing football with me providing a voice over. I have seen many channels that use images of players and I was wondering if this is a copyright infringement. I am looking to monetize the channel however I have nothing to sell on the website it's mainly to be used as a forum. Am I likely to run into problems with copyright using images of footballers? Would this be considered fair use as I am discussing the topic of football?

Thank you for reading and I hope to hear peoples opinions on this. I am UK based if this is of any significance.

Thanks

Shakycow

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Animator
Did you take the footage of the players yourself, in a place you were allowed to, and with the player signing a model release?
If so, congratulations.
If you didn't - yes, it's infringement.

Reactions: markkaz

Crown

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
Channel Type
Guru
Here is a tip for a good source of celebrity photos (and any photo for that matter) which you can use for free so long as you give credit in the description. - Wikipedia. Do a search on Wikipedia for a celebrity, click on the article and then click on a photo that you like. That will take you to a page with all the license information. If it's creative commons or public domain you may use it so long as you give full credit (see below)

Example:

1) Go to wikipedia and search for "Felicity Jones." (British actress) and click on her page -> https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Felicity_Jones