HOW TO: Get More Views by Targeting 'Long Tail'/Compound Keywords for Tags

Status
Not open for further replies.

just Moto

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
I've never written one of these before so here goes nothing. I'm sure it will help a few people, because it is working for me quite well.

In the last month, I have successfully gained approximately 130,000 views specifically from using long tail key words for tags, which were searched for by users through the Youtube search bar.

Long tail keywords are those three and four keyword phrases which are very, very specific to whatever your video is about. They are also known as compound tags. The number 1 thing to keep in mind, is that most people who upload a video to YouTube don't use alot of Long Tail tags, so when someone types in a three or four word search query, there isn't much competition for that tag and you have a much higher chance of coming up on the first page of search results.

So lets get into the nitty gritty. How do you find some good long tails to use for tags.

Step 1. The YouTube search bar

I've simply found the first image on google images here to use as an example. Let's assume we have uploaded a relaxing music video and want to target some long tail keywords specific to our video.

Quick note, make sure to ctrl+shift+p (in firefox) to enable private browsing, or the equivalent setting in other browsers in order to get youtube search terms that ARE NOT tailored specifically to you.

As you can see, the person has typed in relaxing and alot of Long Tail tags have appeared. This is how you find your long tails.

If someone was new and uploaded a relaxing music video their tags might look like: relaxing, music, meditate, soothing, stress, etc... you get the point. Alot of single word keywords that fill the tag box and have such high competition or just aren't searched, that the chances of them ever showing up in a search are almost zero.