Help: contacted by VP of company -- is this a sponsorship?

YouTube Girl

Reaction score
OK, first off please forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place; this is my first time posting on this forum. Also I'm sorry for the ramble-y nature of this post, my head is just really spinning right now and I need some help. Thank you so much in advance for anyone who can offer any information or advice.

So first a little backstory. I have a music YouTube channel with 1k subs (not a huge following, but I've uploaded over 100 videos over the last 6 years and the engagement is pretty consistent).

Last week I did something really crazy. I emailed the president, vice president and a few other higher-ups in the company I would most want to be sponsored by. I mean like, this would be my lifelong dream come true. I don't want to be too specific, but its a cruise line company that owns multiple ships. Basically, I sent them a video introducing myself and telling my story as a musician, and explaining why I would want to be sponsored by their company. At the end of the whole spiel, I said something along these lines: "I hope you'll consider creating a position for me as a sort of 'songwriting ambassador' for your cruise line, filming music videos and vlogs for my channel from various locations on the ship and the different locations you take your passengers to". Cheesy-sounding wording, I know. And I know I was also a bit vague, not like super specific on what I'd want the arrangement to look like.

Well, within 3 days I received an email that went something like this:

Dear ___,
Allow me to introduce myself. I am _____, VP of entertainment on _____, and I report directly to (insert the name of the president of the cruise line here). I would like to work with my assistant to get us together on a call as soon as we maneuver through the hurricane. Talk Soon!