Feedback request before hiatus

Rowan Oakley

Liking YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Other
Hi everyone,

First of all, a message to our mods here: I've taken a look around, and I'm pretty sure it's okay to ask the question in this post. If I'm wrong, please accept my apologies and just delete it. I've got ideas I can get on with, I'm just looking for other peoples' opinions.

Edit: final note about this: I can see from the guidelines that my thread could either be declined because I'm essentially saying, "Check out my channel and tell me what I can improve." Or it could be approved because I'm also asking for, 2-3 aspects of my channel as a whole that I want reviewing. There seems to be a lot of cross-over between these two concepts. My intention is to push for the latter.

H'okay. I've been uploading videos since summer 2016. I'd never appeared on camera before, I had minimal equipment (think: cheapo camera that records 5 mins max of video, is temperamental with focus, and guzzles battery energy like the guy on Man v Food; natural sunlight as only lighting, very little space suitable for recording, opensource editing software only), and I haven't had a day of training in public presentation, acting, face painting, marketing, or voice coaching in my life.

All of which means that I think my videos are a bit flat and scruffy, despite my best efforts. I think I know what I can do to improve things, but I want to take a hiatus while I put these things right and re-make most of my videos.

Before I make a start on all of that, please can anyone take a quick look at one or two of my videos and let me know if there's anything obvious you think I need to work on?