Do you save your old recordings and how?

CharType

Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
I save just about everything I record that gets used in a video, in case I want it later for a recut or blooper reel or something. That includes raw footage and any intermediate steps. So that got me thinking, what does everyone else do? Do you save nothing at all? Just the video that you upload? Everything like I do? For me it's to the point where I'm running out of space on my hard drive. I've been using USB drives and I'm thinking about using cloud storage and eventually just investing in an external hard drive. How do you store your footage?

TheVlogTheory

Liking YTtalk
Reaction score
I save everything. I have a huge backlog of raw footage and pictures backed up on several external storage devices dating back to 2009 until now! I've been doing YouTube for 8 years and have made 1000+ videos/movies. I highly suggest external hard drives!!

Mister20seven

YTtalk Mad
Reaction score
I save everything on my computer and on an external hard disk. My computers hard disk crashed once and I lost everything, that's why I try to save my recordings twice. Even if I'm sure I will never use these clips again after I made a video of it, I need to save them haha

Reactions: TheVlogTheory

Switchbox

Give me your food
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber, Vlogger, Gamer, Commentator, Other
I have to delete raw files after a while.
They take up way too much space. 3TB doesn't hold very long when you make gaming videos.

xingcat

Be good to self.
Reaction score
Channel Type
Other
I save all my footage on a pair of hard drives, just in case one dies. It's easy to do and makes it easy for me to get that footage again if I need it.

Ero

Reaction score
Channel Type
Comedian, Gamer, Commentator