Copyright, the basics

General_Pskov

I've Got It
Reaction score
Channel Type
Commentator
Hello everyone,

I recently noticed that there was some discussion about copyright and fair use and although im no real expert i wanted to share my "knowledge"(That word makes me feel smart ) with you guys.

1. First of all, what is copyright?
Probably the easiest question but ill answer it to be sure!
Copyright is a protection for the creator, so his work doesnt get copied by other people! on youtube this may sound a little bit weird because when you post something on youtube you share it and it is not yours anymore right..? Like charity right??? NO! Wrong, of course you are sharing your content to the rest of the world but that doesnt mean that the creator of that content isnt the owner anymore! as i said, he can still do with it whatever he wants. so if you post something you took from someone else his video it still ISNT yours! it may seem so because its uploaded on your channel but its still "infected" with copyright because you are not the rightfull owner!

this is what youtube says about copyright:

When a person creates an original work that is fixed in a physical medium, he or she automatically owns copyright to the work. Copyright ownership gives the owner the exclusive right to use the work in certain, specific ways. Many types of works are eligible for copyright protection, including:
  1. Audiovisual works, such as TV shows, movies, and online videos
  2. Sound recordings and musical compositions
  3. Written works, such as lectures, articles, books, and musical compositions
  4. Visual works, such as paintings, posters, and advertisements
  5. Video games and computer software
  6. Dramatic works, such as plays and musicals