Confused About Money Made On YouTube...

PianoPig

Reaction score
Channel Type
Other
Hello all!

So I am relatively new to YouTube, started my channel about 6 months ago and almost at 200 subscribers.

I do have all my videos monetized, but I am not looking to make any money on YouTube just yet because I am at a very early stage indeed!

However, I just wanted to have something cleared up. From what I have read, an average amount made on YouTube is around $2 per 1000 views. On my 'ad rates' in my analytics it says my CMP is $4.09.

So the last 2 videos I have released both have around 600 views, and each one has made me about $0.04. Surely following the calculations of $2 per 1000 views, every 500 views should give roughly $0.5?

As I said I am not looking to make lots of money just yet whatsoever, I am just interested to know why this doesn't add up at all or if I am just missing something?

LiquidGaming

I've Got It
Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
Your cpm will go up and down for various reasons. Just today I had around fortey eight thousand views, yet I only made £36 making my cpm less than £1 per thousand views.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

PianoPig

Reaction score
Channel Type
Other
That's interesting to know!

The only thing is that with that $0.04 I made from 500 views would make my CPM about $0.16 per thousand views. And it says it is $4.09, surely that is way out for it to be anything even close to being correct??

Thanks for the reply :)

LiquidGaming

I've Got It
Reaction score
Channel Type
Gamer
That's interesting to know!

The only thing is that with that $0.04 I made from 500 views would make my CPM about $0.16 per thousand views. And it says it is $4.09, surely that is way out for it to be anything even close to being correct??

Thanks for the reply :)
Unsure, YouTubes adsense has been all over the place recently due to companies backing out from YouTube

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Crown

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
Channel Type