Advice on legal use of tv shows and movies

PoochMx

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I'm quite new to all of these Youtube stuff. After quite a long time deciding what I wanted to do on this platform, I decided to do some movie/TV show reviews. I have read quite a few posts now on legal issues, strikes, copyrights and the so mentioned "fair use". So, after reading this, my big question is: Is there a legal way to display part of a tv show or movie on a new video? Are there specific rules for these kind of videos? Is it all just part of the "fair use" thing? Should I buy a movie to use part of it? I'm still a little bit lost with this. Thanks in advance! :)

Stike96

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber
Hey everyone! I'm quite new to all of these Youtube stuff. After quite a long time deciding what I wanted to do on this platform, I decided to do some movie/TV show reviews. I have read quite a few posts now on legal issues, strikes, copyrights and the so mentioned "fair use". So, after reading this, my big question is: Is there a legal way to display part of a tv show or movie on a new video? Are there specific rules for these kind of videos? Is it all just part of the "fair use" thing? Should I buy a movie to use part of it? I'm still a little bit lost with this. Thanks in advance! :)
I'm quite new to this too, but I've been using short clips throughout my videos where they make sense, sometimes even with audio, and I haven't had any copyright issues yet (I have 16 videos containing movie clips up so far). I haven't used any of the scores in the videos however, I feel like that would cause the video to be flagged.

Scootakip [Lana]

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Comedian
So long as your video falls under review/criticism and your video only uses small parts of the clips, it should be fine.

Last edited by a moderator:

Shakycow

I Love YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Animator