• Please note that all milestone posts must not be of a promotional nature and must conform to the Milestones Forum Rules. All "almost" and "nearly" milestone threads are deleted.

1000 subscribers - a few tips on how

stef747

Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber, Vlogger
Last week I passed 1000 subscribers, I'm growing at around 10-20 per day now primarily due to a couple of changes, which I thought I'd share...

First, a bit of back story. I am a Private Pilot and setup my channel to share flying videos, view from the cockpit stuff. That got a pretty good following but wasn't growing very fast.

Skip to a month ago when I went on holiday and decided to vlog my way around the new Qatar Business Class Q Suite offering, and a few days later recorded a short piece on a British Airways flight about their Biz offering (which was pretty average). Suddenly, I've got 2 videos with over 30K views in a month and my daily subscribers went from 5 to 20.

So I decided to pivot a little and turned the channel into a 'pilot and travel videos' channel. I changed from the branded name I was using (Fly Digital) to my personal name (Stefan Drury) and started focusing on content more around 'me' and my experiences of travel and aviation, rather than simply 'videos about me flying planes'.

Additionally, I also started posting more regularly, at least 2 videos per week, typically one aviation video and one general-travel video.

And that seems to have found a sweet spot for me, steady subscriber growth and over 80K channel views now.

Just thought I'd share to try and help others out there also looking to grow. My key learnings were - a) don't be afraid to change direction, b) try and inject more of your personality into your videos to connect with your viewers, and c) NEVER STOP CREATING!

Hope that helps, thanks for reading.
Stef

TheMoonchinKing

Liking YTtalk
Reaction score
Channel Type
Youtuber